Starbox, September 2012

Hi there,

Have I ever told you how much I love the concept of subscription boxes? I think it is the best way to try and get to know new products, interesting brands, and  without having to spend too much money. Even though I enjoy living in Denmark, I do feel jealous for those out in USA or UK, there they have a wider choice. However, there are couple of them which do deliver internationally, and one of them is by the company Starlooks, called Starbox. It is quite an extraordinary concept, since as oppose to deluxe samples, you get three to four full size products and all of them is by Starlooks. Let’s take a look at the September months box firstly, and discuss all the perks and benefits you get as a subscriber afterwards, shall we?

This month Starbox have been very generous, and have filled box with the monographic eyeshadow pallette, the eyeshadow primer, eye jewelry, and a crystal which comes with every box as make-up holder filler. To be honest, at my first sight on the pallette, I thought, really?? the pigmentation is awful, and there is no color payoff. Silly me, judging the book from its cover. I have decided to give it a try anyway, and guess what? The eyeshadows are very nice, it gives a pretty shine, and would really help to create amazing looks, especially layered over simple colors. I have always wanted to try an eyeshadow primer, but never got to buying one, so thanks to Starlooks, I had the opportunity to do so this month. The texture is similar to the balm, it slides on easily, and it does really help eyeshadows to stay on place. I haven’t tried the eye jewelrely yet, but I think I will look around and save it for creating a gorgeous New Year’s Eve look.

The Starbox is not just a subscription service sending a box out every month, it is an unique concept, which has much more cons than any others I have heard about so far. To start with, couple weeks before sending the box, they release a themed look book, which you can use as a hint trying to guess what products will be in your box, and after you have gotten the box you can use it as an inspiration creating gorgeous looks. Last time was my personal favorite, “running with wolfes”, just take a look here. Secondly, Starlooks asks for your birthday date, and includes a birthday surprise in the box on your birth month. The most common fear for the subscription services, I suppose, is uncustomized box, and getting the colors you can’t use. Not to worry, Starlooks take care of that as well, for example this month they have been asking for your skin color, so I suppose you will be getting either a foundation or concealer, or something similar to that. Moreover, they have various programs for loyal subscribers, I specifically included promotion card in the picture, and as you can see there, if you recommend at least one friend – and I am sure that is what you would like to do as soon as you open your box, you can get a free box. And all that is just for 15$ for month. International readers, however, needs to contact Starlooks customer service before subscription, but don’t be afraid – they are really friendly, and respond promptly. Tell me, what you think, and stay tuned for the swatches and looks later on. And if you do decide to subscribe, please tell them I sent you, would you? Have a very nice week!

p.s. they are cruelty free as well!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 23:36:24

    Intriguing, im going to check straight away if they ship to belgium;)

    Reply

  2. CrazyGirlfriend
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 07:03:41

    Hi Barb,
    yeah, they do!
    However, you need to make the order personally with them, preferably over the call – due to security reasons.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Me, My e.l.f & I

The official e.l.f. cosmetics blog

Aromaleigh Mineral Cosmetics V.2

Aromaleigh Mineral Cosmetics | Let Your Natural Beauty Blossom!

Minervos Blog'as: Įkvėpimai

Dievai, karai ir kvepalai

East to West Cosmetics

beauty discoveries while living in Japan

